Slowing down and stopping - basic pricipals

Here is a video of RYA Coach Assessor Elsa Chance slowing down and stopping her Oppie in one of the Helford River Children's Sailing Trust's videos. The sequence for the helm slowing down and stopping a Mirror is identical.

To get going again in a Mirror, ask your crew to pull the jib in (rather than pull the mainsail in). This will help push the bow of the boat away from the wind so it bears away onto a reach.

Latest forum posts

  • No posts to display.

Forthcoming Events

Wed Dec 26 @12:00AM
2019 Mirror pre Worlds
Thu Dec 27 @12:00AM
2019 Mirror pre Worlds
Fri Dec 28 @12:00AM
2019 Mirror pre Worlds
Sat Dec 29 @12:00AM
2019 Mirror pre Worlds
Sun Dec 30 @12:00AM
2019 Mirror pre Worlds
Mon Dec 31 @12:00AM
2019 Mirror Worlds
Tue Jan 01 @12:00AM
2019 Mirror Worlds
Wed Jan 02 @12:00AM
2019 Mirror Worlds
Thu Jan 03 @12:00AM
2019 Mirror Worlds
Fri Jan 04 @12:00AM
2019 Mirror Worlds