1964 National Championship at Plymouth

According to the list of past Champions in the yearbooks, the winners were

1st B Tomes 811 Spectre
2nd D. Wines 1086 Jaunty Jen

Oddly in the British Pathe newsreel they list Pat Edyean and Veronica Moore of Plymouth in dinghy No 7 as the eventual winners. It's possible Pat Edyean and Veronica Moore won the race on the day the film crew visited, rather than the whole championship.

Boats were kept in what is now a car park adjacent to the now defunct Mayflower Sailing Club on the Barbican and launched down the adjacent slipway.

There are also some photographs by Eileen Ramsay, 71366 & 71364 are of this event, hover your cursor to see an enlarged view & details.

1976 National Championships at Newquay

Black and white photo of two Mirrors racing to windward in a big swell


First Roy & Graeme Partridge 60015 Funderbird
Second Harry & John Prangnell 47473 Topaz

1978 National Championships at Mount's Bay

Mirror dinghies rounding the windward mark in Mount's Bay, Cornwall


First Graham & Martin Ellis 55565 Gee-wiz
Second Peter & Tim Robinson 29263 Finnish Tit


1985 National Championships at Royal Plymouth Corinthian YC

First Graeme Castle 66666 Hathi
Second Dave Sherwin & Chris Stubbs 64203 Freckles

2005 National Championships at Poole YC

With 91 entries, record numbers for recent years, the Poole Yacht Club Mirror Nationals 2005 was set to be an extraordinary event and with the previous two times National Champion Dan Ellis not attending a new Champion would be named. The standard of entry was none the less exceptionally high, with champions from other classes competing and the 1978 National Champion returning in the Bronze Fleet.

Page 1 of 2

Latest forum posts

    • mast floats
    • Thanks - that is really helpful - all I want is a slowing down if it's a...

More Topics »

Forthcoming Events

07 Sep 2019
Yeadon Sailing Club
Mirror Open
05 Oct 2019
Ripon Sailing Club
Open & Northern Travellers