MCA website logo 2017 4

A cup with a black plastic base

The Lucas Trophy is awarded to the Leading helm over 39 at the National Championships.

The photo above is from the 2001 UK Nationals. At that event Dave & Jake Gebhard won the Daily Mirror Trophy, Marlow Plate Trophy, Topaz Trophy and the Lucas Trophy. We have good recent photos of the first three of these and this trophy is not one of them. It looks a bit like the Midland Championship Trophy, but it has a different base and is not fluted in the same way. So, by deduction, I think this has to be the Lucas Trophy.

This trophy appears to be missing at the moment.

Here are some photographs of past winners


Year Held by Note
2013   Missing according to the 2013 trophy list.
2012   Not among the trophies photographed at Itchenor SC Nationals
2011   Missing according to the 2011 trophy list.
2005 Hector Cisneros According to the 2005 trophy list.
2002 Guy Wilkins  
2001 Dave Gebhard (salmon pink shirt)  
1988 Howard Tear  
Contact Us
All content belongs to, and copyright © of, the UK Mirror Class Association. Design and Maintenance - Peter Sedgewick, Martin Egan.
Thanks to Jan Grieg-Gran, Rob Grieg-Gran and Scotty Cochrane for their work on a previous website.