MCA website logo 2017 4

A white Mirror dinghy leading the fleet under spinnakes

The cornish weather served up sunshine and, early on, showers with a strong, gusty westerly wind for Day 4. With only 3 races remaining, the Race Committee decided on two today, leaving one for tomorrow.

Race 10 got away cleanly under a 'P'  flag and using a triangle-sausage-triangle course (harrah!). The strong gusty wind and a bit of a chop made for conditions that were less than comfortable for some in the fleet.  The spinnaker reaches were very exciting and even some of the heavier crews who chose to fly spinnakers lost out when they lost control in a mega-gust.

Once again the patrol boats were busy. At one point 'Platypus' sailed by Simon & Tyson Barwood from the Royal Freshwater Bay YC was leading, but by the third windward mark it was Dave & Imogen Wade from Northampon SC leading ahead of Simon & Tyson with 'Wave Catcher Too' sailed by  Cullen & Rowan Hughes from Balmoral SC in 3rd. On the final reach Simon & Tyson capsized, dropping to 8th and allowing 'Hi-Roller' sailed by  Gavin & Oliver Cooke from Balmoral SC to take 3rd place.

Race 11 got away under a 'P' flag with individual recalls. This time Paul & Alfie Cullen, Angus & lou-Lou Hemmings and Howard Leoto & Shane White who were adjudged OCS. With the gusts building, conditions were very challenging. Once again it was a triangle-sausage course (harrah!). Dave & Imogen Wade built a big lead to finish first ahead of Cullen & Rowan with Simon & Tyson third.

With 11 races completed, the second discard kicked in. This, plus todays bullets, has put Dave & Imogen up to second, but with only one race to go, Cullen & Rowan, who are discarding a second, are currently 7 points ahead of Dave & Imogen, so it looks like the title will go to Australia this time. Full results herePhotos of all the Gul Mirror Worlds action on Photolounge.

Contact Us
All content belongs to, and copyright © of, the UK Mirror Class Association. Design and Maintenance - Peter Sedgewick, Martin Egan.
Thanks to Jan Grieg-Gran, Rob Grieg-Gran and Scotty Cochrane for their work on a previous website.