MCA website logo 2017 4

The Mirror Northerns at Bass on 14th & 15th May had Seventeen entries this year. Five races were scheduled, three on Saturday and a final two on Sunday. The former day’s wind was westerly with adequate strength to keep boats moving but without any overpowering gusts. It was a bright and sunny day which suited competitors and spectators alike.

The first two races were held back to back, with a good westerly wind making the windward legs tactical. In race one it was past National Champion Phil Smith with son Oliver (Bass) who took the win from Alex Taylor with Rory Newstead-Taylor (Leigh & Lowton SC).

 In race two Phil Smith’s brother Andy with young Lily as crew narrowly took the win following considerable inter-sibling rivalry. Bass’ Alex & Saskia Leonard took third in the smart craft refurbished by Ginger Boats.

 The breeze dropped a little for the final race of the day, with some good opportunities to overtake for those who chose the right side. Phil & Oliver took the win with Naomi with Lucy Smith second and Alex and Rory third.

 The following morning started with a calm lake and a postponement flag. But, within the hour the wind was filing in from the south east allowing a course to be set to a mark halfway down the lake. Soon after the start sequence, the wind had strengthened to force 5 with whitecaps throughout. Some of the younger sailors found the wind and the waves a bit scary and headed to shore. In race 1, Alex Taylor and Rory Newstead Taylor revelled in the conditions, finishing ahead of the overnight leaders Phil & Smith, who assessed the situation and concluded that they had sufficient points including their discard to win the Meeting without a final sortie so there were only seven boats contesting the final race. To their great credit that number included Toby Kidd & Charlie Rowell (Ripon) and George Spence / Oliver Bramwell (Hollingworth Lake) both crews realising that the Under 18 Award was now within their grasp.

In a shortened race, and with somewhat improved conditions, the win went to Andy & Lily from Alex & Rory and the Kemp family. Overall, they finished the Championship in those three positions behind outright winners Phil & Oliver.


Sailed: 5, Discards: 1, To count: 4, Rating system: PY, Entries: 17, Scoring system: Appendix A
1st Mirror   71013 Bassenthwaite Phil Smith Oliver Smith 1.0 2.0 1.0 2.0 DNC 24.0 6.0
2nd Mirror   71012 Bassenthwaite Andy Smith Lily Smith 3.0 1.0 5.0 3.0 1.0 13.0 8.0
3rd Mirror   70639 Leigh and Lowton SC Alex Taylor Rory Newstead Taylor 2.0 8.0 3.0 1.0 2.0 16.0 8.0
4th Mirror   70960 ASC J Kemp Blaise Kemp 6.0 4.0 4.0 4.0 3.0 21.0 15.0
5th Mirror   69820 Bassenthwaite Alex Leonard Saskia Leonard 4.0 3.0 8.0 5.0 5.0 25.0 17.0
6th Mirror   70748 Bassenthwaite Phil Davenport Oscar /Rory Davenport 9.0 10.0 11.0 6.0 4.0 40.0 29.0
7th Mirror   70142 Bassenthwaite Naomi Smith Lucy Smith 7.0 6.0 2.0 DNF DNC 51.0 33.0
8th Mirror Under 18s 69663 Ripon SC / Hollingworth Lake SC George Spence Jasper Bramwell 10.0 12.0 12.0 8.0 6.0 48.0 36.0
9th Mirror Under 18s 69960 Bassenthwaite Matthew Somerville Henry Bullen 5.0 9.0 9.0 DNC DNF 59.0 41.0
10th Mirror   70921 Ripon SC Fiona Spence Barnaby Kemp 8.0 11.0 6.0 DNF DNC 61.0 43.0
11th Mirror Under 18s 70961 Bass SC/ DRSC Toby Kidd Charlie Rowell 12.0 15.0 DNF 10.0 7.0 62.0 44.0
12th Mirror Under 18s 70391 Bassenthwaite Henry Kirkpatrick Cameron Somerville 16.0 14.0 DNC 9.0 8.0 65.0 47.0
13th Mirror   70608 Bassenthwaite Tim Smith Phoebe Smith DNC 5.0 7.0 DNC DNC 66.0 48.0
14th Mirror   7241 Bassenthwaite Paul Clark Evie or William Clark 11.0 16.0 DNC 7.0 DNC 70.0 52.0
15th Mirror   70899 Ripon Helen Voisey   13.0 13.0 10.0 DNC DNC 72.0 54.0
16th Mirror   70567 Bassenthwaite Paul & Jude Allen Grace & Reuben 15.0 7.0 DNC DNC DNC 76.0 58.0
17th Mirror Under 18s 70201 Bassenthwaite James Reekie Andrew Reekie 14.0 17.0 DNC DNC DNC 85.0 67.0

Contact Us
All content belongs to, and copyright © of, the UK Mirror Class Association. Design and Maintenance - Peter Sedgewick, Martin Egan.
Thanks to Jan Grieg-Gran, Rob Grieg-Gran and Scotty Cochrane for their work on a previous website.