MCA website logo 2017 4

group photo of Mirror dinghy sailors at Chichester YC on a sunny day

Which Jack Holt design was built in the greatest numbers and has taught many thousands of sailors the basics of sailing, racing, rowing and outboard motoring?  Answer - the Mirror! It was therefore fitting that the largest single class represented at the Jack Holt Centennial Regatta was the red-sailed Mirror. 

While the New Winder-built GRP boats with centre mainsheet and single piece mast predominate, it was good to see that several traditional gaff rigs were present, and were well up the fleet showing that in the right hands the gaff rig is just as quick. Grace Yeoman and Izzy Barker from Itchenor SC won the Mirrors with a masterful display of heavy wind sailing with a 2nd and two 1st but they didn't have it all their own way with Eleanor and Imogen Bellfield from Warsash SC winning the first race with some cunning tidal tactics.  It was good to see a healthy turnout of boats from Itchenor and Warsash, along with the host club, with several boats attending their first open meeting - but it was also nice to have boats from Chipstead and Hill Head, two well-known Mirror clubs, on the circuit.  Lottie and Becky Johnson from Hill Head won a Race Officer's Special Prize for completing all three races, and not capsizing, at their second ever open meeting!  The next Southern Travellers Trophy event is at Itchenor SC 6/7 May.


  1. 70624   Grace Yeoman and Izzy Barker  (Itchenor SC)
  2. 70505  Eleanor Bellfield and Imogen Bellfield  (Warsash SC)
  3. 70676  Celia Hansell and Paddy Jeffries  (Itchenor SC)
  4. 70560  Jenny Lorimer and Sally Lorimer  (Warsash SC)
  5. 70652  Tom Weston and Hannah Jones  (Itchenor SC)
  6. 70346  Lotty Johson and Becky Johson (Hill Head SC)
  7. 39508  James Goode and Charlie Goode  (Chipstead SC)
  8. 68943  Looby Smith and Isobel Porter  (Chichester YC)
  9. 70499  Alice Buchanan and Jess Jarman  (Warsash SC)
  10.  69647  Kezia Brewer and Laura Partridge  (Itchenor SC)
Contact Us
All content belongs to, and copyright © of, the UK Mirror Class Association. Design and Maintenance - Peter Sedgewick, Martin Egan.
Thanks to Jan Grieg-Gran, Rob Grieg-Gran and Scotty Cochrane for their work on a previous website.