MCA website logo 2017 4


The fleet arrived to be greeted with rain much to everyone's disappointment as it wasn't forecast, but by the time the racing began it had turned into a beautiful sunny day with a force 3 to 4 westerly. There was much place changing in race one due to the shifty conditions as the wind was blowing off the land, but eventually Tom Cosier & Nick Pugh made it to the front to finish first followed by Rebecca Stephens & Niamh O'Neill in second place, Midge Watkins & Harriet Watkins in third and Sarah Richards & George Richards in fourth.


The conditions continued to be very shifty and the wind strength extremely variable. Richards & Richards managed to choose the right shifts and went on to win the next three races on Saturday.

The fleet arrived on Sunday morning to another lovely sunny day at Looe. This time with less wind which was coming from the SE. The fleet started the race in a light breeze, which virtually died to nothing on the second beat. The sailors who chose to go right and keep out of the tide came out on top at the windward mark, the race was shorten and the fleet finished at the leeward mark. Richards & Richards won the race followed by Brian Bowdler & Freya Visic. The wind died completely so the next race was postponed which gave the sailors the opportunity to go ashore and have an ice cream.

Shortly after the ice cream break the wind filled in from the SW and the fleet re-launched for the final race of the weekend. After a number of place changes Richards & Richards went on to win follow by Stephens & O’Neill in second and Bowdler & Visic in third.

Thanks to Looe SC for hosting a great event and to Neilpryde for providing some brilliant prizes.

The results were as follows:

1st Sarah and George Richards

2nd Rebecca Stephens and Niamh O'Neill

3rd Midge and Harriet Watkins

4th Tom Cosier and Nick Pugh

5th Esme and Scarlett Shepherd

6th Brian Bowdler and Freya Visic

7th Martin Egan and Harvey Martin

8th Esther and Lauren Bowdler

9th Johnathan and Matthew Hipkiss

10th Daisy Jaycock and Joe Jackman

11th Oliver and Archie Hawkins


Report by Sarah Richards.

Contact Us
All content belongs to, and copyright © of, the UK Mirror Class Association. Design and Maintenance - Peter Sedgewick, Martin Egan.
Thanks to Jan Grieg-Gran, Rob Grieg-Gran and Scotty Cochrane for their work on a previous website.